Posted on

Meet My Son “Buddy”!

Okay I will be straight forward with you, I don’t have a son named “Buddy”. I actually do not have a son at all. The reason for me writing this short note is about a pet peeve of mine…calling your child “Buddy”! It likely bothers me more than most.

I believe that the bible is very clear on the functions of a Christian family. The Husband/Father is the spiritual leader of the Family. Read Genesis 18:19 For I have chosen him, in order that he may command his children and his household after him to keep the way of the Lord by doing righteousness and justice; in order that the Lord may bring upon Abraham what He has spoken about him.

With that verse in mind the Father must have the respect of the child. Read Exodus 20:12 12 “Honour your father and your mother, that your days may be prolonged in the land which the Lord your God gives you.

The Wife is subject to her Husband, read Colossians 3:18 Wives, be subject to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.

And the bible is specific in child rearing, read Eph. 6:4 Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.
It would be hard to discipline your buddy!

By calling your child “Buddy” or “Pal” etc. is diminishing’s the honour between the Father/Child relationship and is not setting the foundations for proper Family values . That child is not your Buddy or Pal, it is your son. I am not trying to resort to personal experince and rarely do, however in my generation we had to call our Fathers’ “Sir” or “Dad” or “Father”. I distinctly remember a friend of mine when we were in grade 6, and he called his Father by his first name! I will never forget it.

That’s my two cents worth, and I don’t think this is too legalistic is it?

God Bless

Brian Mason

About beaconapologetics

A Christian Apologist. A follower of Jesus. A defender of the Christian Faith

2 responses to “Meet My Son “Buddy”!

  1. This should not bother me that much but it does. I think it portrays the child being on the same level as the parent. It is not only biblical but a respect thing.

  2. Tom

    I taught Sunday School for 1-3 graders back in the late 1980s-early 90s and the growing trend was for children to address adults by their first name. The pastor asked that the children call him by his first name and expected others to follow suit. I was brought up to address all adults as Mr., Mrs., or Miss when I was a child and I didn’t agree with elevating children to the same level as adults. I asked the children to address me as Mr. K and I remember catching flak from the pastor.

Leave a Reply

