Posted on

KJV-Onlyism Absurdity Never Ceases To Amaze Me

I have subscribed to a few blogs that endorse the King James Bible and the trend within them are that the KJV is the only Bible that is true. Now regardless of that assertion, when I want to engage in some form of friendly discussion my comments are not approved and I get no response from that camp. I have many, many reasons not to use that version of the Bible EXCLUSIVELY, as I have a copy of the NASB, NIV, ESV, and believe it or not the KJV. We can get God’s word in all of those versions.

For some reason, this KJV-Only group finds it important to blast Calvinism. Why is that? I know that there are many so-called Calvinists not acting very Christian, and that is repulsive! But this KJV-Only crowd is used to using broad brush strokes, and it is simply not Christian.

This division that the KJV-Only camp creates, is only weakening the Christian Church!

God Bless

Brian Mason

About beaconapologetics

A Christian Apologist. A follower of Jesus. A defender of the Christian Faith

2 responses to “KJV-Onlyism Absurdity Never Ceases To Amaze Me

  1. My collection of Bible translations is extensive KJV has poetic value, but is hardly the best translation out there. I look for faithfulness to the original languages!

  2. David ⋅

    I have run into the exact same thing. I have even encountered a blog that, like you have seen, loves to bash Calvinism. Their particular blog doesn’t require comment approval so I commented on several points backing it up with Scripture (ESV Translation) and getting responses from them. They ended up basically saying that I don’t read Scripture and someday I will come to a knowledge of what Scripture actually says.

    The problem is that they did not even respond to my actual points of Scripture. They ignore it and say Calvinists just read their favorite Theologians and not the Bible. This is simply not true.

    Another thing that they always like to throw out there (rather than making sound arguments) is that we need to follow Calvinism to its only logical conclusion. Of course they are trying to get us to say that God is the author of all sin. It is frustrating to see this kind of absurdity.

    I have never understood the KJV only crowd, there is no Biblical basis for it.

Comments are closed.