Posted on

Is It True That The Apostle Paul Was A Married Man?

As found in scripture it seems quite evident that Paul was a widower. As a member of the Sanhedrin (before his conversion), and as a requirement to vote in the prosecution of Christians he must have been married, as most theologians agree;

Acts 26: 9-11 (NASB)
“So then, I thought to myself that I had to do many things hostile to the name of Jesus of Nazareth. 10 And this is just what I did in Jerusalem; not only did I lock up many of the saints in prisons, having received authority from the chief priests, but also when they were being put to death I cast my vote against them. 11 And as I punished them often in all the synagogues, I tried to force them to blaspheme; and being furiously enraged at them, I kept pursuing them even to foreign cities.

His wife subsequently must have died as it is written in scripture;

1 Corinthians 7: 8 (NASB)
But I say to the unmarried and to widows that it is good for them if they remain even as I.

God Bless

Brian Mason

About beaconapologetics

A Christian Apologist. A follower of Jesus. A defender of the Christian Faith