Posted on

Matt Dillahunty’s Contradiction?

Matt D. Gives it up in the first 40 secs. Matt says he has had a keen interest in magic all his life. Does this sound like a Christian? Matt was never a Christian by his words. Magic by biblical definition is forbidden: Ezekiel 13: 17-23;

““Now you, son of man, set your face against the daughters of your people who are prophesying from their inspiration. Prophesy against them, 18 and say, ‘Thus says the Lord God, “Woe to the women who sew magic bands on all wrists, and make veils for the heads of persons of every stature to hunt down lives! Will you hunt down the lives of My people, but preserve the lives of others for yourselves? 19 “And for handfuls of barley and fragments of bread, you have profaned Me to My people to put to death some who should not die and to keep others alive who should not live, by your lying to My people who listen to lies.”’” 20 Therefore, thus says the Lord God, “Behold, I am against your magic bands by which you hunt lives there as birds, and I will tear them off your arms; and I will let them go, even those lives whom you hunt as birds. 21 “I will also tear off your veils and deliver My people from your hands, and they will no longer be in your hands to be hunted; and you will know that I am the Lord. 22 “Because you disheartened the righteous with falsehood when I did not cause him grief, but have encouraged the wicked not to turn from his wicked way and preserve his life, 23 therefore, you women will no longer see false visions or practice divination, and I will deliver My people out of your hand. Thus you will know that I am the Lord.

Matt has also stated he was a Christian; I don’t think so.

Please pray for Matt and all his followers

God Bless

Brian Mason

About beaconapologetics

A Christian Apologist. A follower of Jesus. A defender of the Christian Faith

7 responses to “Matt Dillahunty’s Contradiction?

  1. Take words out of context? I KNOW he enjoys magic that is obvious. You my friend are the one missing the context. My question to you and other atheists is “What difference does it really make to you?” You don’t believe in the supernatural so why do you care about this post so much? Magic is strictly forbidden for the Christian. Period. This is BTW a Christian Apologetics Blog.

  2. Ignostic Atheist ⋅

    It is a common strategy of the apologist to take words out of context, but the mistake you made was in including the context with your post. I don’t know if you noticed, but he was doing a card trick when he said he enjoys magic. The obvious question, which you’ve pretended is unintelligent, is whether or not you believe a card trick is magical. If you do not, then you are deliberately misleading your audience.

  3. Matt said that “he has had a keen interest in magic all his life”. That is the crux of my article. When Matt said he was a hard nosed Southern Baptist and later makes the above proclamation I merely am stating with biblical scripture that he never was a Christian. Just going by his own statements, that’s all. Card tricks are not the same as tarot cards I agree but his statement said he has always had a keen interest in magic. I don’t know his heart, only his statements.

  4. Ben

    Given the video, it’s pretty clear that Matt is referring to magic tricks and not actual magic or fortune telling. To try to equate the two simply because they can now be commonly referred to as “magic” is dishonest. I don’t see anything in the quoted Bible passage that forbids displays of dexterity designed to entertain.

  5. I also refuse to approve any comment unless some sort of intelligence comment is used, thus the trashing of your last two comments.

  6. I am going by Matt’s own words.

  7. Ignostic Atheist ⋅

    Wait, you think magic is real, and that Matt is fascinated by dabbling in the supernatural?

Comments are closed.