What is “Reformed Theology” and the “Five Scripturas”?

It is a movement that originated by Martin Luther in the 16th Century. Since that time it has perhaps been better known as Calvinism. Calvinism is a biblical focused Theological movement, that objectively states that God is Sovereign, God’s elects and redeems, they are secure in Christ’s work and the recognize the sovereignty of scripture.

Reformed Theology believers follow the Five Solas.

1. Sola Scriptura – Scripture Alone
2. Sola Christus – Christ Alone
3. Sola Gratia – Grace Alone
4. Sola Fide – Faith Alone
5. Soli Deo Gloria – Glory of God Alone

Calvinists will also call the Five Solas the “Five Points”, “TULIP”

1. T – Total Depravity
2. U – Unconditional Election
3. L – Limited Atonement
4. I – Irresistible Grace
5. P – Perseverance of the Saints

You may hear of the term “Hyper Calvinism” and it can be defined as; “the denial of the necessity of missionary work. It denies common Grace and any form of love that God might have for the unbeliever”. This is non-biblical. Not all Hyper Calvinists hold to this position.

God Bless

Brian Mason