Posted on

Nothing Against the Roman Catholic Church, however…

By now anyone who has been following my blog posts will have noticed that most of them have been directed at the Roman Catholic Church. Why am I writing so much about them? Well most Roman Catholics (in fact all) that have read this blog are up in arms about the direction I have been taking regarding the actions and inactions of the RCC. In effect I have been writing polemically against the Church as I have found that the legalism and past history of the Church is choking the life out the followers.

I did a very unscientific poll recently, and the title of that poll was “How many Atheists were at one time from the Roman Catholic Church?” The results were not good for the RCC. I am also seeing very many Atheists in chat rooms today starting with….”I was raised in a Catholic family….etc”, the rest was not good if you can see where I am heading with this. Is there a connection? I don’t know for sure however it seems that there is a great disillusionment happening within that RCC! I thank God for not letting me head down the road of Atheism as I too was a Catholic that escaped with my faith in tact!

Recently I was at a Wedding Reception, and my wife and I were chatting with a guest at a table, and the subject of Religion came up. As both my Wife and I are Pastors the subject of faith usually comes up. The gentleman we were speaking with said “I guess by denomination I am a Catholic” and he went on to state, “although I don’t go to Mass anymore…” This is not the first time I have heard this. It happens over and over that the Roman Catholic says “I am a Catholic but I don’t go to Church…”? What the heck is going on?

A more startling side of all this is that when I quote actual writings from Official Roman Catholic publications and Councils etc., the reaction is always from a defensive postition. In fact the last post I read on a Catholic Bloggers site he posted that “The Church teaches us”, “The head of the Council said…”, but where is Christ in their teaching? So much Mary propaganda and legalism that they can’t seem to see through the stained glass and idol worship to read the actual word of God! I truly believe that the Catholic Church is an Idol in itself!

I hope that if you find this post offensive, instead of writing more snarky comments back to me, take some time to read the Gospels of Christ! Reevaluate then get back to me!

God Bless,

Brian Mason

About beaconapologetics

A Christian Apologist. A follower of Jesus. A defender of the Christian Faith

12 responses to “Nothing Against the Roman Catholic Church, however…

  1. Well have a great life notascientist! I hope you find your way!

  2. Depends what kind of accountability. I am accountable for all the things I do that impact other people. But I don’t need a religion to tell me that.

    I’m 30.

  3. I am just guess you are between the ages of 16-28?

  4. The versions of him that call for “accountability”?

  5. Which one?

    Thor would be pretty cool. Or Zeus. Though I’m not fond of the whole ‘sacrificing animals’ thing he has going. Dionysus is an interesting one.

    If you’re referring to Jesus, there are some versions of him that I would definitely like to hang out with. Others, not so much.

  6. It’s possible then that you just don’t want God.

  7. “What does God need with a starship?” – Captain James Tiberius Kirk, Star Trek V

    I don’t find your quotations any more convincing than this one.

  8. Isaiah 59:2 2 But your iniquities have made a separation between you and your God,
    And your sins have hidden His face from you so that He does not hear.

  9. “why don’t you take some time and read the gospels.”

    Why do you think I haven’t?

    I assure you, I have. I’ve read the whole Bible. And found none of it the least convincing.

  10. Your point taken, however you state the embarrassing and reprehensible actions…I have heard this befor too.

  11. Hi. I’m an atheist who was raised as a Roman Catholic. Just thought I’d throw in my two cents, if you care to have them.

    I just want to say that my reasons for becoming an atheist had nothing to do with the RCC. However, if I still believed in a deity, I would no longer be a member of the RCC. Not for any theological reasons, but because the organization is responsible for a lot of reprehensible and embarrassing actions over the years that I wouldn’t want to be affiliated with.

Comments are closed.